End-of-Term Tips for Closing Down (and Starting Up!) Your Haiku LMS Classes

It’s the end of the term. Grades are done, my class is over, time to think about new classes...

...but wait!

What on earth do I do with my old class now that it’s over? Do I really have to rebuild from the ground up for next term?

Rest easy! You’ve worked hard on your Haiku class, so why not use it as a basis for next term? Follow the tips below to save yourself a ton of time (and storage space)!

Here’s what you need to do:

  1. Make your class inactive
  2. Save it as a new class or as a template
  3. Add next year’s students to the roster

The steps are simple, though the specifics vary based on your set up. Read on for more details!

If your class is over, the very first thing to do is make your class Inactive.

Why? When you make your class inactive it becomes invisible to your students. Making your class inactive will prevent students from logging into the class, but all of the class content and student data will still be available to you (and any co-teachers).

How? To make your class inactive, choose Make Inactive from the Manage Class menu. (Or watch this short video to get the full context.)

What happens to inactive classes? Do they ever get deleted?

Your classes are yours, so it’s up to you to decide what happens to your inactive classes! You can keep them around as long as you wish, or delete them whenever you wish. You can access your inactive classes by clicking on the Inactive tab on your My Classes screen. You can also reactivate a class at any time.

Why should I save my class?

Haiku allows you to re-use your class content with a Save As option to make a copy of the class. When next term starts, you can use the copy as a basis for your new group of students.

If you are going to re-use the content in a class for a new semester, or wish to save the content to re-use again and again, save your class as (Manage Class > Save As) a either a new class or a template. If your schools Student Information System is pushing information to Haiku, save as a new class. If you’re manually creating classes in Haiku and plan to use this course material over and over, save as a template. (Read more about the Save As option and How to Use Templates.)

What if my school automatically creates classes for me? How can I re-use content then? 

When your school automatically imports classes to your account from a Student Information System (SIS), those classes often have Rosters, but never any content. Those classes are also connected to your school’s SIS, and your school needs you to use that specific class for reporting purposes.

However, you can prepare your class content ahead of time in a separate class. Then, when you are ready, you can Merge your content class into the class imported by your school.See what we mean!

Why should I delete my class?

If you don’t want to save your class and will not be using it again, you may want to consider deleting your class. Classes use storage space, and keeping classes around, especially classes with videos and images you uploaded, that you won’t be using again could be costing your school extra money.

Please note that deletion is permanent, so if you think you may need your class resources again, don’t delete them! If you really want to delete a class, you can see how to do so.

And speaking of storage, here are some other ways to conserve time & space!

1) Copy a file from one class into another. If you have a resource you want to use in multiple classes, you can Copy the file rather than upload it multiple times. (Each upload counts toward your school’s storage quota, so if you copy files, you’ll be saving your school storage space and making your life easier!) See how to copy a content block and an entire page!

Be sure to use the copy option rather than copying and pasting the image or the HTML. Doing the latter will generate a temporary link that will expire after 24 hours.

2) Those of you teaching more than one section of a course will LOVE Roster Sections. Maybe you teach English 101 first, second, and third period. Instead of creating three separate Haiku classes and updating content in three places, create one Haiku class that has multiple Roster Sections. Watch as we create Roster Sections and connect them to Rosters coming from a student information system, or if you’re creating classes manually in Haiku you’ll find this walkthrough relevant.

That’s it! You’re ready to roll for next term and you’ll save space!